Dynamic Yoga uses five elements or techniques (tattvas in Sanskrit) to integrate body, mind, and breath:

earth (stability) —> asana
water (motion) —> vinyasa
fire (transformation) —> bandha
air (extension)> —> pranayama
space (emergence) —> drishti

Using these five techniques to integrate body, mind, and breath, Dynamic Yoga aims to improve and release the practitioner’s awareness of life:

Earth—Each posture (asana) uses correct alignment to bring stability to the posture. Practiced with steadiness (sthira) and ease (sukha), it frees the body of tension and calms the mind.

Water—The flowing practice of entering, leaving and linking each posture (vinyasa) creates harmony.

Fire—Using muscular locks (bandha) in each posture the spine is stabilized and a cleansing and healing quality is given to each posture.

Air—Breathing techniques (pranayama) bring a calm lightness to the postures facilitating the cleansing and healing process.

Space (Ether)—Focused attention is used in each posture to bring conscious awareness to body and mind (drishti), creating space and freedom in movement and thought.

Consider the five elements: earth, water, fire, air, space … and the qualities these elements represent for you:

Earth grounds us.
Water brings us flexibility and harmony.
Fire drives us forward.
Air frees us.
Space brings conscious awareness to body and mind.

With which element do you most strongly identify? Which element would bring more balance to your life?

Once you are able to identify the element of your individual strength and the qualities of the element you might seek in your life, let that knowledge permeate your yoga practice. It is through the balance of the five elements that you find balance in your yoga practice and balance in your life.

Read more about the Benefits of Dynamic Yoga >>